About Colin (2016)

I wrote this version of my "About Me" page in the summer of 2016, during a revamp of my personal site spurred on by a major job search, and in-between episodes of chasing around a crafty toddler.

What's to know? I'm a 33 year old, married, father of one living in Philadelphia, PA and running my own software consulting business. I enjoy spending time with my family, taking in sporting events, and long chats with friends. I haven't gotten into Game of Thrones Breaking Bad that Netflix show everyone talks about , but I've got a handful of shows I watch regularly programmed into the DVR.

I was born in the Philadelphia suburbs, but grew up in Central New Jersey -- which is a place distinct from North and South Jersey. Since my Dad first brought home a castoff PC from his work when I was nine years old, I've been invested in computers, and able to do interesting things with them.

That bug led me to study Computer Science in college, where I met the love of my life. After school, I started my career as a software engineer close to my hometown, but somewhere along the line I was bitten by a desire to try something different. I followed that whim to a job as the second employee of a startup company in San Francisco.

There, I learned an incredible amount about business and gained valuable experience at work. My girlfriend (now wife) and I made lots of friends and connections and explored the west coast a bit before returning east after three years. Back home, we married and moved into the city of Philadelphia, where we've lived since 2011.

We settled into our new city, and eventually grew our family by welcoming our son into the world a few years later. Along the way, I helped found another startup with colleagues of mine from that company in California and we spent two years building collaboration tools into email for product managers and organizers everywhere.

In my youth, I was a gifted student and avid soccer and hockey player. I'm an only child and I absolutely love inventing new games and sports -- so much so that I irregularly run an olympiad of crazy sports.

Other Things to Know

You can read versions of this profile from different years: 2023, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2013, 2010